President: Judith Allinson

President Elect: Barry Warrington

For e-mail addresses, please see the YNU Membership Card or click here to contact us.



  • Chairman of YNU: Andy Millard Tel: 0113 258 2482. e-mail:
  • Treasurer: Guy Baragwanath
  • Publicity: Mrs Jill Warwick Tel: 01765 602832
  • Andy Godfrey
  • Paula Lightfoot
  • Terry Whitaker
  • Becky Bailey
  • Phillip Whelpdale
  • Francis Hickenbottom

Independent examiner:

  • Crumpton & Co., Chartered Accountants of 682 Anlaby Road, Hull HU3 6UZ


The Naturalist:

  • Editorial Board: John Bowers, Bill Ely, Andy Millard, Paul Simmons, David Smith.
  • General Editor Dr A.V. Millard. Tel: 0113 258 2482.  e-mail:

The Bird Report:

The Lepidoptera Report:

  • Penny Relf, tel: 01759 307943


Membership Secretary

The Natural Sciences Forum

  • Vice Chairman: Andy Godfrey,  Tel: 01226 384022
  • Birds Protection Liaison Officer: Mr Doug Simpson

Visit the Natural Sciences Forum page for more information.


YNU Library

  • Librarian: Mr Christopher Young, Tel: 01535 603727
  • Appointments: NEYEDC, Tel: 01904 641631, E-mail:

The YNU library is hosted by the North and East Yorkshire Ecological Data Centre at 10a Minster Gates, York.  The library is open to all members for consultation, although an appointment should first be made with NEYEDC.  Members must sign the NEYEDC visitors' register on each visit.  Books may be borrowed for a short period.



  • R. Watling, M.B.E., Ph.D., D.Sc., F.R.S.E.
  • J.R. Mather, M.B.O.U.
  • Margaret E.Bradshaw, M.B.E., B.Sc., Ph.D.
  • Adrian Norris
  • Roy Crossley, F.R.E.S.
  • Prof. M.R.D. Seaward, M.Sc., Ph.D.,D.Sc., F.L.S.
  • M. Densley, F.M.A., M.B.O.U.
  • I.C. Lawrence
  • S.L. Sutton, M.A., D.Phil., F.R.E.S., F.R.G.S.
  • Prof. G.F. Leedale, Ph.D., D.Sc., F.R.S, F.L.S.
  • G. Fryer, D.Sc., Ph.D., F.I.Biol, F.L.S.
  • M.E. Archer, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D., F.R.E.S.
  • Margaret A. Atherdon, B.A., Ph.D.
  • John.E.Dale
  • Colin A.Howes, M.B.E., Ph.D.
  • Gillian M. Brand, Ph.D
  • H.E. Beaumont
  • D.J. Boatman Ph.D.
  • W.F. Curtis
  • M.L.Denton, M.B.O.U., F.R.E.S.
  • Mrs. P.P. Abbott
  • C.R.Stephenson
  • Dr Roger Key
  • John Newbould
  • Dr Terry Whitaker
  • Dr Geoff Oxford
  • Mr Simon Warwick MBE
  • Mrs Sarah White, MA, MSc
  • Mr Peter Flint FRES
  • Dr Jane Pottas

YNU Information Menu


A list of officers for the Yorkshire Naturalist Union.

Recording Wildlife

Recording and studying wildlife is the main focus of the YNU

Constitution and Rules

YNU Constitution

YNU Presidents

A list of former YNU Presidents

Natural Sciences Forum

An open forum to discuss ideas for the development of the YNU